User login

Bangladesh and the Russian Federation Signed Agreement on the Establishment of the Intergovernmental Commission on Trade, Economic, Scientific and Technical Cooperation

Bangladesh and the Russian Federation signed an agreement on the establishment of the intergovernmental commission on trade, economic, scientific and technical cooperation.
Deputy Minister for Economic Development of the Russian Federation, Mr. Alexey Gruzdev signed the agreement from the Russian side. State Minister for Foreign Affairs Md. Shahriar Alam MP signed the agreement on behalf of the Government of Bangladesh, this morning at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, MP and the Russian Ambassador to Bangladesh Alexander I. Ignatov and other senior officials of the Ministry were present.
The agreement is signed with an aim to promote the development of broad-based cooperation in a variety of areas, including trade, economy, science and technology. The Intergovernmental Commission will identify the main directions for trade, economic, scientific and technical cooperation and its priority areas of the two countries. It will assist the organizations and business communities of the two countries in the development and diversification of mutual bilateral relations. It will also analyze the status of trade, economic, scientific and technical cooperation, defines its most prospective directions, particularly in areas of agriculture, energy and power, education. The Commission may identify other directions of cooperation, such as information and communication technologies, innovations, knowledge sharing and other areas.
Both parties will appoint Co-Chairs, with deputies and executive secretaries to carry out the Commission’s work. Permanent or ad-hoc working groups on specific areas of cooperation may be established within the framework of the Commission by a joint decision of the Co-Chairs. The number of members of national parts of the Commission wouldn’t exceed 20 from each party. The Commission will meet at least once a year, alternately in the capitals of Bangladesh and the Russian Federation.

Media Type: 
Publish Date: 
Wednesday, March 1, 2017